You Said You Were Leaving…

You said you were leaving

And yet you keep coming back

I was happy being in my dark

Next thing I know I was blinded by your headlights again

It’s like all roads lead you back to me

You said you were leaving

Why am I still looking at you?

More importantly, I ask myself

Why am I still here waiting for you?

You said you had moved on

Why do I still feel your presence?

You see, I was at peace with the memories

And so this absolutely makes no sense.

Kryptonite, that’s what you are

And not even Superwoman can avoid Cupid’s arrows

Oh but his arrows keep leaving me low

I thought I had the antidote

Then Cupid said, “Haha, girl you thought!”

The problem is you’re venomous, the problem is you’re the anti-venom.

It’s a Catch twenty-two

I better catch myself before I fall for you again

Did I say catch myself? I meant hold myself so that I don’t go running back to you again

It’s enough that you’re still running through my mind

And that my heart keeps skipping beats when my mind does those rewinds

The memories are a compass

And my heart is the Atlas

They keep me coming back.

Oh but wait

What’s your reason for your being here?

You said you were leaving.

Ayirebuah💞 and Nannz.

Leave a comment